History of Mound
Mound’s hospitality dates back to the 1850’s, when Mathias Cook built his personal cabin and shortly thereafter opened it up to settlers in need of a place to stay. Cook’s house, as it became known, was a sanctuary for settlers in the then remote northwest corner of the upper lake. By 1876, his hospitality caught on, the Narrows Channel was dredged and the steamers began to bring boatloads of people to enjoy the upper Lake. The newly built Chapman house in addition to Cook’s made for two of the only four hotels on Lake Minnetonka. Known for their good food, comfortable rooms, and great fishing facilities, the hotels also provided outstanding views of Lake Minnetonka and the steamboats that regularly escorted passengers arriving by rail in Spring Park and Excelsior.
Mound Real Estate Today
Mound derives its name from the Native Americans and the burial grounds that originally inhabited the area. Thanks to the pre-historic Indian mounds, this northwestern Lake Minnetonka city has a unique and beautiful bluffed shoreline. Mound began as a township of Minnetrista, named Mound City and was later incorporated as the Village of Mound. It continued to grow as it annexed Island Park, Halstead Heights, Three Points and Shadywood Point, which are presently premier and popular residential areas of Mound. Read More...